Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month 

 National Hispanic Heritage Month takes place between September 15th and October 15th. Why does it begin in the middle of the month? September 15th is the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Mexico, Chile and Belize also celebrate their independence days during this period. The annual celebration honors the contributions and heritage of Hispanic and Latinx communities throughout American history. Begun in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week, until it expanded in 1988 to what is now known as National Hispanic Heritage Month. 

To learn more about the rich history, diverse cultures, and influence of the Hispanic/Latinx communities, check out this PBS programming;   Hispanic Heritage Month, or visit your local public library and the   Smithsonian Hispanic Heritage page. 

The Hispanic Heritage Foundation identifies, inspires, prepares, and connects Latinx leaders in the community, classroom, and workforce. To learn more, click here

More News

Access To Service Level Agreements

Dear LifeLong Team, As promised, you all...
Learn More

Tragic Loss of Kevin Galloway

We are very sad to report the...
Learn More

LifeLong Closely Tied to Disability Rights Movement

Every year on December 3 the world...
Learn More

World AIDS Day 

By Elaine Herscher We’ve come an incredibly...
Learn More